Dennis DeYoung Releases New Single ‘There’s No Turning Back Time’

todayJune 11, 2021 54

share close

Dennis DeYoung has released his final studio album, 26 East, Vol. 2, along with a high-octane new single titled “There’s No Turning Back Time.”

The progressive mini-epic opens with clean guitar arpeggios and DeYoung’s plaintive vocals. The song builds intensity as it approaches the middle, stacking DeYoung’s vocal harmonies atop distorted power chords, sprightly keyboard riffs and a dizzying synthesizer solo.

DeYoung last previewed 26 East, Vol. 2 in May with the fiery, hard-rocking single “The Last Guitar Hero,” featuring Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello. Whereas that song was a straight-ahead rocker, “There’s No Turning Back” harks back to the poppy, progressive rock of DeYoung’s Styx heyday.

You can listen to “There’s No Turning Back” below.

DeYoung released 26 East, Vol. 1 in May 2020. He named the twin albums after his childhood address in suburban Chicago, where he grew up across the street from fellow Styx cofounders Chuck and John Panozzo. The singer originally intended to release the set as one album but then realized he had enough material for two discs.

“It’s gonna be cool, I’m glad I did it,” DeYoung told UCR earlier this year when discussing 26 East, Vol. 2. “They’re good songs, and that’s it! I’ve got a nice batch, and they’re eclectic.”

He also joked about Styx being a “fake prog band”: “We were an American rock band who used classical influences, but Styx was always at heart an American rock band. Most of the prog bands didn’t have a Marshall stack. That’s not what they were doing. But that’s who we were.”

DeYoung’s former Styx bandmates will also release their 17th studio album, Crash of the Crown, on June 18. A press release describes the LP as a “modern-day sonic chronograph of the endless regenerative cycle of the rise and fall — and rise again — of our shared human experience.”

Source:  www.ultimateclassicrock.com

Written by: Andy

Rate it

Previous post


MACHINE HEAD Releases New Three-Song Single, ‘Arrows In Words From The Sky’

MACHINE HEAD has just released a new three-song single, "Arrows In Words From The Sky". Featuring the tracks "Become The Firestorm", "Rotten" and "Arrows In Words From The Sky", the effort was recorded at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, California. Joining MACHINE HEAD frontman Robb Flynn and bassist Jared MacEachern during the sessions were drummer Navene Koperweiss (ENTHEOS, WHITECHAPEL, ANIMALS AS LEADERS) and producer Zack Ohren. Written against the backdrop of a once-in-a-century pandemic and the long and painful death of Flynn's mother, these three songs represent one of the darkest […]

todayJune 11, 2021 6

Similar posts


BRING ME THE HORIZON Announces Fall 2022 U.S. Tour

British rockers BRING ME THE HORIZON will embark on a U.S. headlining tour in the fall. The dates, produced by Live Nation, will kick off late September and run through October, including arena shows at Brooklyn's Barclays Center (September 24) and Los Angeles's Kia Forum (October 6). Support for the dates includes KNOCKED LOOSE, GRANDSON and SIIICKBRAIN. BRING […]

todayMay 16, 2022 14


Ex-THREE DAYS GRACE Singer ADAM GONTIER: I Have ‘No Plans On Going Back To A Dark Place Anytime Soon’

Former THREE DAYS GRACE and current SAINT ASONIA frontman Adam Gontier spoke to the Razor 94.7 and 104.7 about the turning point in his battle with substance abuse issues. He said (as transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET): "It was pretty recent, actually. In 2017, I went into a treatment center. I was doing some solo acoustic shows in Canada, and I had relapsed, […]

todayMay 16, 2022 29

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recently Played