LOCAL H To Release Covers Album, ‘Local H’s Awesome Quarantine Mix-Tape #3’

todaySeptember 2, 2021 10

share close

Cult 1990s rockers LOCAL H have announced a brand new covers LP, “Local H’s Awesome Quarantine Mix-Tape #3”, and have shared two singles from the release, “Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl)”, originally by LOOKING GLASS and “Hackensack” originally by FOUNTAINS OF WAYNE. The album will be released on CD/LP/4×7″ boxset/CS/digital on October 8 via Brutal Panda Records.

LOCAL H remain as prolific and hungry as ever three decades into their perennially loud career. Shortly after the release of their critically acclaimed, Steve Albini-produced album “Lifers” in 2020, the world changed forever with the onset of the global pandemic. After facing tour cancelations around the world, LOCAL H became one of the first bands to embrace the drive-in concert experience. While locked under quarantine, frontman Scott Lucas began doing live streams from his living room (or bathroom… or bedroom…) on a near-daily basis. Everyone from Prince to BLONDIE to FOUNTAINS OF WAYNE to Mark Lanegan.

The band decided to pick the best of those “sessions” and record them for the third entry in their series of cover albums, aptly titled “Local H’s Awesome Quarantine Mix-Tape #3”. Recorded at Million Yen studios in Chicago by their longtime collaborator Andy Gerber, the release is a testament to the solace that music can provide during the most difficult of times.

LOCAL H is currently embarking on a 2021 tour supporting SOUL ASYLUM. They have also announced headlining dates with RADKEY as support for the fall for “The Lifers Retour”. On October 22, LOCAL H will be performing at Shaky Knees festival in Atlanta.

Unlike so many of their peers from the 1990s, LOCAL H has refused to slow down. Since the band’s formation in 1990, they have released eight studio albums, countless EPs and live records, a well-received series of “Mix Tapes” featuring a surprising mix of cover songs, and a steady stream of memorable singles that include “Eddie Vedder”“Hands On The Bible”“California Songs” and the rock radio staple “Bound For The Floor”. In addition to all of that, guitarist/vocalist Scott Lucas and drummer Ryan Harding have maintained a near constant international touring schedule — forging a blistering live show that has amassed a loyal and enthusiastic fan base

“Local H’s Awesome Quarantine Mix-Tape #3” track listing:

01. When Doves Cry (Acoustic) (PRINCE cover)
02. Strangers (THE KINKS cover)
03. Brandy (LOOKING GLASS cover)
04. Here Comes The Rain Again (EURYTHMICS cover)

05. Big Log (ROBERT PLANT cover)
06. Hackensack (FOUNTAINS OF WAYNE cover)
07. Ugly Sunday (MARK LANEGAN cover)
08. Dreaming (BLONDIE cover)
09. When Doves Cry (Electric) (PRINCE cover)

Photo credit: John Oakes

Source:  www.blabbermouth.net

Written by: Andy

Rate it

Previous post


LIVING WRECKAGE Feat. ANTHRAX And SHADOWS FALL Members: ‘One Foot In The Grave’ Music Video Available

LIVING WRECKAGE — the new modern metal band comprised of vocalist Jeff Gard (DEATH RAY VISION), guitarists Jon Donais (ANTHRAX, SHADOWS FALL) and Matt LeBreton(DOWNPOUR), bassist Matt Bachand (SHADOWS FALL, ACT OF DEFIANCE) and drummer Jon Morency (LET US PREY) — has unleashed a music video for the title track from its debut EP, "One Foot In The Grave". Says Bachand: "'One Foot In The Grave' is a song that would be the anthem for anyone who embraces the ups and downs that […]

todaySeptember 2, 2021 48

Similar posts


BRING ME THE HORIZON Announces Fall 2022 U.S. Tour

British rockers BRING ME THE HORIZON will embark on a U.S. headlining tour in the fall. The dates, produced by Live Nation, will kick off late September and run through October, including arena shows at Brooklyn's Barclays Center (September 24) and Los Angeles's Kia Forum (October 6). Support for the dates includes KNOCKED LOOSE, GRANDSON and SIIICKBRAIN. BRING […]

todayMay 16, 2022 15


Ex-THREE DAYS GRACE Singer ADAM GONTIER: I Have ‘No Plans On Going Back To A Dark Place Anytime Soon’

Former THREE DAYS GRACE and current SAINT ASONIA frontman Adam Gontier spoke to the Razor 94.7 and 104.7 about the turning point in his battle with substance abuse issues. He said (as transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET): "It was pretty recent, actually. In 2017, I went into a treatment center. I was doing some solo acoustic shows in Canada, and I had relapsed, […]

todayMay 16, 2022 34

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recently Played